An Update – Where am I at?

Hello everyone!

I wanted to take some time and share some information about some history, where I am right now, and my future plans for the curious.

The year in review

November last year I was averaging about 10 viewers per stream. This was 2 years after I started streaming League. In the last year, I have put a lot of work into improving and growing the stream, by improving at the game (last year I stayed in D2-D1, this year I was consistently master), creating more YouTube content, doing more 24 hour streams, and networking more with other streamers.

It’s also been a bit exciting from a personal standpoint. I started this year as a PhD student and received a “no pass” on my qualifying exams in March. After studying all summer and taking time off from streaming to focus on studying even harder, I again received a “no pass” on them in September. You only have two chances, so I was told I need to leave with my masters degree. Luckily, the math department said I could work one extra quarter while I looked for a job.

Where I am now

Over the last few months, I’ve applied to over 50 university jobs and have been unable to find one. In fact, most of the time HR won’t even pass on my application to the search committee because my masters degree is not shown on my transcript yet (and won’t be until January or February). I plan on continuing applying for Winter/Spring university positions (among other more accessible jobs) but realistically I won’t be a professor again until next August.

What does that mean for you guys? That means that I will likely work part-time and have more time available for streaming. I really want to grow my channel and I believe that if I continue putting in the work, I could eventually make partner.

As always, I’m incredibly grateful for your support. If you want to help me out, there are a lot of ways to do so! You can just to tune into my stream and say hello, since I love talking to all of you, or you can hang out in the Discord and interact with me and other viewers. You can also spread the word and tell people about my channel, if they want to watch some… unconventional supporting. In short, the best way to help me out is just to keep doing what you’re doing!

-Jason / Melyn

 

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Falianb on December 5, 2016 at 15:47

    Love your stream, and think you are good person as well. Best of luck to you and if there is anything I can do to help let me know.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

